Gender! Class!

Image

When I think of gender, I think of the sociology class I just had! We talked about gender and how we are different. She asked us what life would be like if we were of the opposite sex. I was thinking to myself, there would be a lot of things different. we all had to make a list, and what everyone said got me to think that we are actually very different in out own ways!

It would start with my family. If I was a boy my name would be totally different. It would have been Jack Ryan instead of Alexandra Elizabeth. My mom and dad have always wanted a boy but they got three beautiful girls! Actually we ended up naming my dog Jack! I probably would have been closer to my dad when I was little. I would have played many sports when I was little too. Because my dad played many sports when he was little and throughout school, I would want to take after him. Do not get my wrong I always father daughter time but the time spent would be just a little different.

As I was growing up I was kind of a tom-boy.  Even though I did not play many sports I still dressed kind of boyish. Didn’t we all? But then I became a girly girl. Growing up I would have had the same friends I had. Maybe my personality would have came out a little different and got me in a different clan of people. Maybe I would have ended of more girly at a young age, making me a cheerleader, or on a dance team! If you think back would you change anything? I might have changes a few of my decisions but nothing to extreme because I am truly happy to what i have become.

Now that I am in college I probably would not have chosen the same career choice and major. My major is speech pathology and most of the influence for that was because of my speech pathologist. She was a lady and I would not have thought about going to a male doctor for that. No offense to the males but I could not picture it. Also, my job would not be a tanning salon. There was a guy that worked there but he honestly did not last. In today’s society it just is not typical to walk into a tanning salon and seeing a man behind the counter. Men do tan there; actually it is a 50/50 ratio between men and women!

Well that is my life changes if i was a male, but everyone will have different thoughts. We are meant to be whatever gender we are. No matter what, we will always think some things will be easier for men or women to do depending on the situation. Both genders have their pros and cons but we live with it! We have gotten this far with being a gender type…

WE WILL SURVIVE!

Leave a comment